Operation Write Home

My brother and sister-in-law are career military folks. Between them, they’ve been deployed seven times since 9/11. I also know several other people currently serving their country and one of them, thank God, recently survived a land mine attack. I know how we feel when our loved ones are deployed, especially into a war zone; but I can only begin to imagine how these soldiers feel. *wipes away a tear*

About a week ago I came across a post on the Etsy Paper Street Team by Jennifer of Jenuinememories that talked about Operation Write Home. Having a heart connection to our military servicepersons, I quickly hopped over to their website to check it out. I don’t think I got to the second page before I decided that this is something I have to be a part off. To think that this organization has been around for as long as they have and I didn’t know about them. And the coolest thing is that they only accept handmade cards.

Their mission is stated as “Supporting our nation’s armed forces by sending blank handmade greeting cards to write home on, as well as cards of gratitude to encourage them.” “…all ages and levels of experience” are welcomed to participate. They have so many resources available that even the most amature crafter shouldn’t feel intimidated. They even offer artwork and a free stamp to tag your cards. And yes, they accept monetary donations.

Each box of cards that is shipped to our servicemen, is topped with a bag of ‘AnyHero‘ mail – letters, pictures, drawing or even a short note to anyone on the frontline in need of some encouragement.

There are some rules in place (ie how to package your submissions) for the ease of handling the large amount of cards they process and to keep our soldier safe (ie no glitter because it makes them visible to night goggles.)

You can find all the information, resources, etc on their website and their Stars and Stamps blog, but their facebook page is the most happening spot.

Going forward, for every card sold at Ms. Veronica’s, one will be donated to Operation Write Home. But, I want to start a little better than that. I want to give you guys an opportunity to participate and send some joy to our service men and women. Until the end of April, the total number of responses to this post will be my first donation to Operation Write Home. One comment per email address please. Let’s support our Heros – they make it possible for us to do what we do everyday.

– Roanne.

6 responses to “Operation Write Home

  1. What an incredibly generous offer, Roanne. I would imagine that small gestures of kindness like this one mean more than we could ever imagine to these brave men and women. Bravo!

  2. Thanks for commenting Christina. We couldn’t live how we do without our service men and women.

  3. Pingback: What gives you inspiration? | msveronicas

  4. What a wonderful and unique idea OWH is.
    Anyone would be happy to receive one of your cards….not only because it would be written on by their loved one, but also because your designs are so pretty! I especially like the “Love nest” and “Captive heart” designs.

  5. Thanks for your comment/compliment:-)
    I was excited when I found your blog through Curvy Yoga. I love to travel, but life makes it a challenge right now. So the next best thing for me is to eavesdrop on life in other parts of the world. Looking forward to following your blog.

  6. Pingback: Tweet to support our heroes @MsVeronicasEtsy | msveronicas

Leave a Reply

