Happy Friday. Guess What?

I’m not sure who fooled me into believing that after me semester ended I would have time – HA! But I do have some news to share.

First is my most recent feature and giveaway – yup, you can win your choice between a couple of my items if you enter by June 10th. Also check out the interview and the other giveaways going on at Tutus and Tea Parties – one ends tomorrow.

Next, is my first ‘gallery’ opening. **Does a baby clap**  One of my prints will be part of the group show, “Made In Jersey City” at the Cosi on Washington Blvd in Jersey City (across from PATH’s Pavonia/Newport Station). The exhibit features the art and craft work of several members of the Jersey City Etsy team. The opening will be part of a quarterly event called Jersey City Fridays – 6 – 8pm on Friday, June 3rd, 2011.

The print is an artist proof for a suite of prints that I am ever so slowly working on titled “City Prints”. As you may know, I love the graphic nature of the Adinkra symbols and use them on some of my books. Adinkra symbols may capture a proverb or saying, thought, emotion, event or being in one silhouetted symbol. These prints evolve from that idea, capturing a city in a few symbols/icons and then using those icons to create an interesting image. The image is then printed on a full size (22″ x 30″) of Rives BFK. This print, called ‘Charleston,’ is first in the set; and feel free to critique it.

Lastly, I’m off to camp for the weekend. But, I’m going to leave you with something to tease your imagination. I started experimenting with a new medium this week. Care to take a guess?

2 responses to “Happy Friday. Guess What?

  1. I really have no clue…. not sure if it’s a food {or not}. But if I were to take a stab in the dark, is it the beginning of Soap?

  2. Hmm, soap sounds interesting but it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

