It’s a Free-land of creativity

I have the unique opportunity to introduce the personality behind two shops – thestudiodoor.etsy.com and freelandstudios.etsy.com. Both these shops feature creations from Scott Freeland, a sculptor and scenic artist for over 18 years. Scott heads Freeland Studios, which provides original artworks for theme parks, custom architecture, museums exhibits, trade shows or wherever a spectacle needs is to be created. But it’s one of Scott’s smaller creations that has taken on a life of it’s own – the trendy and now popular iRetrofone. This super cool gadget has been featured in numerous blog posts, magazines and even on the Nate Berkus Show. The iRetrofone base is a fully-functional, stationary iPhone dock with working handset and complete compatibility with USB cable. Each individual iRetrofone is hand-sculpted and handcast in urethane resin. And yes, your iPhone 4 will work with it. Necessity was the mother of invention when creating the iRetrofone base; after looking at his iPhone’s handset hanging from a couple nails hammered into the wall, the artist in Scott knew he could do better. Cool outcome? I think so!

Scott says, “I am an artist that never rests and my mind is constantly engaged. I feel as though my fine art is the most important body of ongoing work that I have created. For this body of work is created from an open mind, free from deadlines and committees to appease. It comes from a pure source of inspiration. My work is also rooted in some basic principals such as: human emotions, the fundamentals of humanity, earth’s elements, energy, the golden ratio, ancient technologies, wisdom and universal knowledge.”  Out of this comes thestudiodoor.etsy.com.  Behind this studio door, you will find ceramics vessels with the most beautiful glazes and textures, sculptures and even paintings.

So Scott, apart from creating things, what do you do?

I am a husband to my wife Megan and a father to my 2 children, Crystal 11 and Jasper 3. Where I put my efforts towards playful guidance and exploring our true spirits.

How did you get started in your field?

I don’t know if there was a starting point into art. I believe it began as a young child, sometimes between the moment I realized that I was conscious to the world and when my mother put a crayon or a piece of clay in my hands. Looking backward it seems like one long path to today. Academically I excelled in art, woodshop, mechanics, drafting and struggled with everything else. Found my way in the same haphazard manner to art college at Ringling School of Art and Design. Graduated in the early nineties and have been self-employed my entire adult life creating art.

What are your favorite creations/shop items and why?

Mayan Vessel


A couple of years ago I was in downtown Chicago visiting a friend and we stumbled upon a Mayan exhibit at the Museum of Natural History. While there I encountered a giant stone sculpture of the Mayan calendar. Standing there for nearly an hour was in awestruck. I found the stone monument to be inspiring. Once I returned home the monument kept entering into my thoughts. After a couple of weeks I became motivated to recreate the calendar and its symbols myself. As a sculptor and a potter I thought it would be fitting to create their calendar on a vessel. Therefore I spent the next 6 months creating it out of clay in various pieces, and then raku fired it even though the risk of breakage was so great. The vessel is an assemblage of movable parts that allows the date to be set according the long and short counts. After 20 years of creating art professionally I feel as though this is one of my treasured masterpieces.

Chakra Vessel


Ancient symbols and beliefs have fascinated me for years. This vessel embodies many of them, primarily based on the chakras with their colors and symbols of depiction. Also incorporated is the golden ratio with the root chakra largest at the base grounding it. While each chakra reduces in succession by 1/3 its mass. Ascending upward to the crown chakra then topped off with quart crystal elevated above the vessel, acting as an antenna. Finally the vessel was created with continuous intent imbedded into it while being created, to cleanse, ground and align the chakras.

Looking at some of your creations, I curious to know if you practice tai chi/yoga/anything else?

Like many things in life meditation found some strange way to enter into my consciousness. The work I do is detailed in nature, process oriented and requires prolonged, periods of time from 4 hours to 24 hours plus of non-stop focus.  Often times redundant and repetitive, repeating the same action over and overlays. Initially I would refer it to “being in the zone” at one with mind and body creating. After doing this for over and over with practice it has become quick and easy to slip into this zone, coupled with years of technical ability this zone has involved into a meditative state where time slips away while working and my thoughts gravitated towards philosophy, revelations and personal insight.

Outside of art, Scott is completely fascinated with gems and minerals such as quartz and crystals. He feels a certain kind of exchange in frequency with them; in some way they give him energy and insight. Scott is entering a time of transition, moving to the Asheville area of North Carolina. There he plans to shift focus toward finished works rather then commissioned work. Perhaps work geared more towards community than company.

You can also find Scott and his creations at freelandstudios.etsy.com or
freelandstudios.com. But take a moment to go behind the studio door, see what you like and leave a comment below. Each comment will get you another entry into my current giveaway (one entry per person).

And remember, the revolution is being handmade.

This article is syndicated here.

One response to “It’s a Free-land of creativity

  1. Pingback: It’s a Free-land of creativity | Om 'n Artistry

Leave a Reply

