So how is your summer coming along?

Surprise!!!  Happy Monday. So after a stint in the ER and a significant family loss and a trip out of the country…I’m back:-) Hope you guys and gals are all great.

I had to travel to my home island of Trinidad to bury my grandmother–one of the hardest things I ever had to do in my life. But my trip had some really nice times in it also, like spending time with my siblings (my brother lives in Germany), hanging with my dad, uncles and cousins that I don’t get to see very often, going to the beach and eating my favorite local food and fruits (it just tastes different when it is made ‘back home’). Here are some pictures from my trip.

Maracas Bay – one of the best beaches in Trinidad. But this is not a picture of the ocean you say? This is actually the view that surrounds the beach. It is a big cove wrapped up by these beautiful, lush mountains and just a small area where it is open to the ocean. As much as I am a beach girl, this is my preferred view of this area. Even the drive up through the mountains to get there is lovely.

This next picture is of  my silly brother whom I love, silliness and all. The phone in the guesthouse where we stayed had a lock on it, but there were emergency numbers posted on the wall and no key in sight of the lock. I didn’t worry about it though, because the owner/operators lived on the premises.

This is my 2 year old nephew who will tell you he is a Trinidadian. In his almost 3 years on this earth, he’s been there 3 times. Can you tell he enjoyed himself?

I also enjoyed some local fruits – Pomeracs (Malay Apples) and sweet, juicy, tree ripened Five Fingers (Star Fruits) that grew right in the yard where we stayed. Delish!!!

And of course, me at the beach. But I’m showing this one because I’m sporting a hat I got from a fellow Etsian, Freckles California. Oh yeah, I’ve definitely been getting use out of this hat; and it travels very well.

And while they tried to keep me in Trinidad with a cancelled flight and a two day delay in getting home, I’m super happy to be home and getting back to some normalcy. This has really turned into a challenging summer. But, without resistance/challenge, there can be no increase in strength. That applies to muscles and life.

The view from the airplane on our way home – and I did not color correct this photo. Maybe this is an art screenprint in the making.

So how is your summer coming along?

The revolution is being handmade.

7 responses to “So how is your summer coming along?

  1. Hi Roanne! It’s great to have you back! Trinidad looks like a beautiful place to grow up at! I hope you feel like sharing some memories with us sometime because I’m curious to find out if they’re similar to mine growing up in a lush tiny rural area.
    And what an interesting apple, I had never seen one like that before, what do they taste like?
    That air-plane shot is awesome! 🙂 ❤

  2. Thank Claudia. Feel free to ask any questions about Trinidad. Where I grew up wasn’t very rural, it was a little suburb but my family had a ‘rural mentality (I guess). My mom grew lots of veggies and we had lots of fruit trees at my house and my grandma’s I LOVED it.
    And the ‘apple’ is native to Malaysia – not sure how it got to Trinidad, but it grows well in the like climate. It’s a bit had to explain the taste – it’s mildly sweet, and has the texture somewhere between an anjou pear and an apple.

  3. So good to have you back! Funerals are terrible but I’m so glad you got to hang out with your family. It’s at times like that, that their support becomes invaluable! My best wishes to you through this mourning period.

    I loved your photos. That sand bar in the ocean from above is awe inspiring. And those apples with the stone pip….my goodness…never seen anything like it! It’s cute that your nephew identifies so strongly with his culture, even though he only visits Trinidad occasionaly…kids are so interesting what they latch onto 🙂

    Thanks so much for your positive comment on etsy AND the awesome comment on my cupcake pincushion tutorial (it meant so much to me). You rock 🙂

  4. 😀 Thanks a lot Juanita and you are more than welcome.

  5. I’m so sorry about your loss! What a beautiful place to travel to, though & it’s always great to be able to see family & ‘home’ from time to time. I just visited Arizona, my ‘home’ & my family, more for personal reasons than as a vacation. (I could of used a hat like yours). Now, I’ve injured my knee at work, so at first I couldn’t walk at all, without a lot of pain. Now, I can walk a bit, but can’t stand for very long or lift anything over 10 pounds. My summer isn’t really going well, either. I hope summer gets better soon!

  6. PS- that sandbar photo would make an amazing print!

  7. Oh Shelly, it seems to be a rough summer all around – even with my friends far away. I do hope you heal quickly and yes, I’m hoping for a very enjoyable rest of the summer…for everybody.

Leave a Reply

