The Art of Handmade

Hi guys. This is a post I wrote on my other blog – Om ‘n Artistry. It repeats some things I’ve shared here at Ms. Veronica’s in the past. However, it got so many views I thought I would re-post it here for the rest of my handmade community. Hope you enjoy.

Roanne.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

by SocialSpaces

Om ‘n Artistry was established as a place to marry two of my ‘loves’ and  because I do find that there are a lot of people of there that share a passion for both my loves – yoga and crafting. On that note of sharing, there were two interesting articles in the Handmadeology email update last month. These may help explain why I love handmade; that it is near impossible to mass produce artisan quality goods; that the best customer service you’ll probably ever receive is from someone who truly put love into what they made and are offering to you.

Article 1 – Buying Handmade Creates Community

Article 2 – Reasons to Buy Handmade

And speaking of community, I also feel very blessed as an Artisan, to be on the ‘receiving end’ of that community; to be incorporated into peoples lives through my work. For example, I just completed 4 shoe bags (pictured below) that will be given as presents to a team of bridesmaids. How lucky am I to be a part of that through my shop on Etsy.

by Ms. Veronica's

And while Etsy is awesome, the weather is nice this time of year, so get out and check out your local markets and crafter venues. In my town, Jersey City, NJ we have the weekly Creative Grove Market, the Farmer’s Market at the Grove Street PATH Station on Monday’s and Thursdays and the Van Vorst Farmers and Flea Market. Though it says “Farmers” you will find several crafters showcasing thier work. But there are tons of lists on the internet – here are a couple you could search:

Fairs and Festivals

Crafter.org City Guides

Unanimous Craft (look under the Craftologists tab. It lists resources by area)

by MoonandSundries

Do you have any online resources where you find out about local markets? Please share.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The revolution is being handmade.

3 responses to “The Art of Handmade

  1. I love the shoe bags!!! Beautiful Roanne!

  2. Pingback: The Art of Handmade | msveronicas | handmademusic | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

